Fully Funded Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2018 Fellowships Fully Funded 
Status: CLOSED

Fully Funded Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship 2018

Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship provides opportunity for full-time young journalists from developing countries and countries with economies in transition to cover the United Nations.  Like every year, it shall be organized in this fall at the UN Headquarters in New York City. The fellowship is to encourage journalists to continue working in the field of journalism and promote a better understanding of the United Nations in their home countries.


United States


Participants shall gain the following opportunities:

  1. To attend special briefings
  2. Interview Senior Officials
  3. Exchange ideas with colleagues from around the world
  4. Visit new organizations, like, the New York Times, Democracy Now! and WYNC radio



  • Full-time working Journalist
  • Aged from 22 to 35
  • Fluent both in oral and written English
  • Hold a passport valid until at least April 2019
  • National of a developing country or country in transition
  • Both a dweller and citizen of one of the after-mentioned countries

Eligible Regions: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine (State of), Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe



  • Application for the fellowship has to be made via an online application form.
  • The following documents need to be attached with the application:
    • Three (3) published work samples related to international affairs. These can be submitted in their original language, including a brief summary in English for material that is not submitted in one of the six official UN languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.
    • A letter of reference from your current employer or (for freelanceers) an editor you have worked with
    • Your curriculum vitae in English or French
    • Proof of education (your highest degree or diploma)

For more information or to apply please visit : official website



Related posts

Leave a Comment

Read more:
$1,500 Video Contest Scholarship for Students Who Enjoy Writing

Technological progress has enabled millions of people to express their creativity in so many ways. On YouTube alone, there are...